Finalists in the 2020 Cambridge Science and Technology Awards revealed

Cambridge Precision Ltd are delighted to be sponsoring the Cambridge Science and Technical Awards for the third year running.

As sponsors of the Innovation AWard, our particular  congratulations go to: Biofidelity, bio, o2h group, PragmatIC, Sook and Start Codon.

 By Paul Brackley  Published: 11:09, 11 November 2020

“The finalists in the 2020 Cambridge Independent Science and Technology Awards can now be revealed. Following hundreds of entries, a shortlist across 14 categories has been drawn up. The Cambridge Independent Science and Technology Awards are now in their fourth year.

It represents an array of great talent – emerging and established – from across the Cambridge region in fields from biotech to cleantech, AI to medtech, and features individual categories for Researcher of the Year and CEO of the Year.

This year, a Covid-19 Response Award captures some of the incredible individual, collective and company-wide responses to the pandemic. The judging panel for the awards features independent experts across a range of fields and sectors, from business leaders to specialists.

Winners would normally be revealed at an autumn ceremony, but the pandemic means that has been delayed until the new year at a date to be confirmed.In the meantime, you can enjoy a nine-page celebration of the finalists in the Cambridge Independent (out from Wednesday November 11 and in the shops all week, or also available as an e-edition on this website or via subscription). This tells the remarkable stories and successes of each of these entrants.The latest edition of the Cambridge Independent on your iPad or smartphone

From the Cambridge Independent, congratulations to all those who made it on to the shortlist – and a big thank you to our sponsors for their support.

Start-up of the Year, sponsored by Kao Data

  • Biofidelity
  • Intellegens
  • Kubos
  • Qkine
  • RoboK
  • VividQ

STEM Initiative of the Year, sponsored by MathWorks

  • Cambridge LaunchPad
  • Cambridge Science Centre
  • Padlock
  • Raspberry Pi
  • Redgate Software
  • St Mary’s School Cambridge

Cleantech Company of the Year, sponsored by Woodfines

  • Alchemie Technology
  • Cambond
  • Camnexus
  • Spotta Smart Pest Systems

Biotech Company of the Year, sponsored by Appleyard Lees

  • Avacta Group
  • Cerevance
  • Evonetix
  • Microbiotica
  • Phoremost

Technology Company of the Year, sponsored by the Faculty of Science and Engineering at Anglia Ruskin University

  • IQGeo
  • OKRA Technologies
  • Pure ID Labs
  • SciBite

The Award for Innovation, sponsored by Cambridge Precision Ltd

  • Biofidelity
  • o2h group
  • PragmatIC
  • Sook
  • Start Codon

Medtech Company of the Year, sponsored by Chesterford Research Park

  • C2-Ai
  • Cellular Highways
  • Glyconics
  • NeedleDock

CEO of the Year, sponsored by Tilney

  • Anthony Cooke, Cambridge Clinical Laboratories
  • Sarah Howell, Arecor
  • John Hoyle, Sook
  • Mark Kotter,
  • Jessica Ocampos, Camnexus
  • Sunil Shah, o2h Group

Researcher of the Year, sponsored by AstraZeneca

  • Dr David Aldridge, College Reader in Zoology, University of Cambridge
  • Dr Melanie Eckersley-Maslin, BBSRC Discovery Fellow, Babraham Institute Cambridge
  • Dr Zunlong Ke, Postdoctoral Scientist on a Career Development Fellowship at MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology
  • Dr Ruodan Lu, Senior Member of Darwin College, University of Cambridge
  • Dr Emma Pomeroy, Lecturer in the Evolution of Health, Diet and Disease, Department of Archaeology, University of Cambridge
  • Dr Omer Ziv, Postdoctoral Research Associate in Prof Eric Miska’s lab, Wellcome Trust / Cancer Research UK Gurdon Institute, University of Cambridge

Covid-19 Response Award, sponsored by Sagentia

  • Alchemie Technology
  • Avacta Group
  • John Briggs Group, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology
  • Cambridge Clinical Laboratories
  • Institute for Manufacturing, University of Cambridge
  • Dr Tobias Wauer, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology

AI Company of the Year, sponsored by the Entrepreneurship Centre at Cambridge Judge Business School

  • AlgoDynamix
  • BIOS Health
  • C2-Ai
  • Intellegens
  • OKRA Technologies
  • io

Tech for Good Award, sponsored by Allia Future Business Centre

  • Arete Medical Technologies
  • Healx
  • LocANTS, from Dr Arunava Dhar and colleagues, Addenbrooke’s Hospital
  • POCKiT diagnostics
  • Twipes

The One to Watch, sponsored by cofinitive

  • BIOS Health
  • Flusso
  • Glyconics
  • Spotta Pest Systems
  • io
  • VividQ

Life Science Company of the Year, sponsored by BioStrata

  • Avacta Group
  • Cerevance
  • CN Bio
  • Evonetix
  • Microbiotica
  • PhoreMost

The sponsors for the 2020 Cambridge Independent Science and Technology Awards